PAUL BOWLES: THE CAGE DOOR IS ALWAYS OPEN

Documentary, 86 minutes, CH 2012

A film by Daniel Young

Order DVD

 

Storyline
Even though his musical and literary oeuvre is neither large nor very well known apart from his bestseller-novel «The Sheltering Sky», the American composer and author Paul Bowles (1910-1999) was a man of immense charisma and influence.
When he moved to Tangier (Morocco) in 1949, it was a city divided into zones, a sanctuary for artists, writers and the wealthy to do as they pleased without fear of prosecution. Soon Paul’s friends and peers from America began visiting: Tennessee Williams, Truman Capote, Gore Vidal, Jack Kerouac, Alan Ginsberg, William Burroughs and many others. The Neo-Lost Generation, the Beats, the Hippies all searched him out, lured by the mysterious and magical world he depicted in his books.
But that was only one side. Though Paul Bowles never hid his homosexuality, he was married to the lesbian writer Jane Bowles. What attracted them despite their extremely different personalities was a shared worldview: that one must travel to the point of no return in order to find salvation.
Based on an exclusive series of interviews with Bowles shortly before his death and anecdotes provided by his friends and collaborators, the film tells of a daring and visionary life and a relationship shaped by a co-dependency that went way beyond sexuality.
Watch this special and eccentric film directly on our website by clicking the rent button above.

 

Protagonists
Paul Bowles, Roland Beaufre, Bernardo Bertolucci, Ira Cohen, Karim Debbagh, Tamara Dragadze, Ruth Fainlight, Oliver Harris, John Hopkins, Richard Horowitz, Christopher Sawyer-Laucanno, Mohammed Mrabet, Cherie Nutting, Bachir Skiredj, Mohammed Temsamani, Florian Vetsch, Gore Vidal, John Waters, Edmund White.

 

Team
Producer – Valentin Greutert
Executive Producers – This Brunner, Stanley Buchthal, Andres Bruetsch, Simon Hesse
Camera – Imre Juhas, Andres Bruetsch, Robert Adrian-Pejo, Felix von Muralt, Marco Möschler, Yoav Parish
Music & Sound Design – Csaba Kalotas
Animations – Robin Bushell, William Crook
Editor – Kaya Inan

 

World Sales
Submarine Entertainment

 

Awards
Audience Award at Torino LGBT 2013

 

Festivals
Berlinale Panorama 2013, Mostra Sao Paolo 2012, Zurich Film Festival 2012 et al.

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

PAUL BOWLES: THE CAGE DOOR IS ALWAYS OPEN

Dokumentarfilm, 86 Minuten, CH 2012

Ein Film von Daniel Young

DVD bestellen

 

Inhalt
Obwohl sein musikalisches und literarisches Werk weder sehr gross noch sehr bekannt ist abgesehen von seinem Bestseller-Roman «Himmel über der Wüste», war der amerikanische Komponist und Autor Paul Bowles (1910-1999) ein Mann mit grossem Charisma und Einfluss.

Als er 1949 nach Tanger (Marokko) zog, war die Stadt ein Magnet für Künstler, Autoren und Wohlhabende, wo sie praktisch nach Belieben tun konnten, was sie wollten, ohne Strafverfolgung befürchten zu müssen. Bald kamen Pauls Freunde und Kollegen zu Besuch: Tennessee Williams, Truman Capote, Gore Vidal, Jack Kerouac, Alan Ginsberg, William Burroughs und viele andere. Die „Lost Generation“, die Beatniks, die Hippies, alle haben ihn aufgesucht, von den geheimnisvollen und magischen Welten seiner Bücher angezogen.

Doch das war nur die eine Seite. Obwohl Paul seine Homosexualität nie versteckte war er mit der lesbischen Schriftstellerin Jane Bowles verheiratet. Was die beiden trotz völlig unterschiedlicher Persönlichkeiten anzog, war eine gemeinsame Weltsicht: dass man an einen Punkt gelangen muss, wo keine Rückkehr mehr möglich ist, um das Seelenheil zu finden.

Anhand einer Reihe von exklusiven Interviews mit Bowles kurz vor seinem Tod und Anekdoten von seinen Freunden und Mitarbeitern erzählt der Film von einem gewagten und visionären Leben und einer Beziehung, geprägt von gegenseitiger Abhängigkeit, die weit über die Sexualität hinaus ging.

Schauen Sie sich diesen eindrücklichen Film direkt auf unserer Webseite an, indem Sie oben die Rent-Taste klicken.

 

Auftretende Persönlichkeiten
Paul Bowles, Roland Beaufre, Bernardo Bertolucci, Ira Cohen, Karim Debbagh, Tamara Dragadze, Ruth Fainlight, Oliver Harris, John Hopkins, Richard Horowitz, Christopher Sawyer-Laucanno, Mohammed Mrabet, Cherie Nutting, Bachir Skiredj, Mohammed Temsamani, Florian Vetsch, Gore Vidal, John Waters, Edmund White.

 

Team
Buch & Regie – Daniel Young
Produzent – Valentin Greutert
Executive Producers – This Brunner, Stanley Buchthal, Andres Bruetsch, Simon Hesse
Kamera – Imre Juhas, Andres Bruetsch, Robert Adrian-Pejo, Felix von Muralt, Marco Möschler, Yoav Parish
Musik & Sounddesign – Csaba Kalotas
Animationen – Robin Bushell, William Crook
Schnitt – Kaya Inan

 

World Sales
Submarine Entertainment

 

Auszeichnungen
Publikumspreis am Torino LGBT 2013

 

Festivals
Berlinale Panorama 2013, Mostra Sao Paolo 2012, Zurich Film Festival 2012 u.v.m.

 

Diese Diashow benötigt JavaScript.